Charles Jordan Prize for Second Year Physics | Department of Physics

Charles Jordan Prize for Second Year Physics

1932 - 1970
B.Sc. Physics, St.F.X. 1952
M.Sc. Physics, McMaster 1956

Charles Jordan was an Amercian who came to St.F.X in 1948 to study Physics. While a student here he worked with Father Clarke as a research assistant and lab demonstrator. He designed and built a control board for the lights and curtains in the St.F.X Auditorium. Upon completion of his graduate degree Charles returned to New England to work as a microwave antenna design engineer for the Raytheon Company in Bedford Massachusetts. He was married in 1956 and had three daughters. He died in 1970 at the age of 38. The Charles Jordan Prize was established in his memory by his mother, Mrs. David W. Jordan and the first prize was awarded in 1981.

Winners to date

1980-81 Ralph Mason / André Weingartshofer 
1981-82 Andrew Bleau 
1982-83 Thanh Nguyen 
1983-84 Stephen Kymlicka / Mairi MacDonald 
1984-85 Peter Poole 
1985-86 Richard Southcott 
1986-87 Cliff Liem 
1987-88 Gerald Corsten 
1988-89 Stephen Duncan 
1989-90 Chris Bowen 
1990-91 Mark Lumsden 
1991-92 Chris King 
1992-93 Patrick Sutton 
1993-94 Marcy Lumsden 
1994-95 Steward MacNeil 
1995-96 Not Awarded
1996-97 William (B.J.) MacNeil
1997-98 Jeremy Moeller
1998-99 David Cooke 
1999-00 Laura Filion / Tarryn Kennedy
2000-01 Ryan MacDougall
2001-02 Patrick Clancy
2002-03 Carmen Hartt
2003-04 Steve Condran
2004-05 Katie Fraser
2005-06 Ron MacEachern
2006-07 Andrew Lim
2007-08 Marielle Lespérance / Bethany Loewen
2008-09 Aaron Farrell
2009-10 Not Awarded
2010-11 Zachary MacDonald